Frequently Asked Consumer Questions - General
What does the Nevada Division of Insurance do?
The purpose of the Division of Insurance is spelled out in the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 689A.280 NRS 679A.140:
- The purposes of this Code are to:
- Protect policyholders and all having an interest under insurance policies;
- Implement the public interest in the business of insurance;
- Provide adequate standards of solidity of insurers, and of integrity and competence in conduct of their affairs in the home offices and in the field;
- Improve and thereby preserve state regulation of insurance;
- Ensure that policyholders, claimants and insurers are treated fairly and equitably;
- Encourage full cooperation of the office of Commissioner with other regulatory bodies, both of this and other states and of the Federal Government;
- Ensure that the State has an adequate and healthy insurance market characterized by competitive conditions and the exercise of initiative;
- Prevent misleading, unfair and monopolistic practices in insurance operations; and
- Continue to provide the State of Nevada with a comprehensive, modern and adequate body of law, in response to the McCarran Act (Public Law 15, 79th Congress, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1011 to 1015, inclusive), for the effective regulation and supervision of insurance business transacted within, or affecting interests of the people of this state.
- The provisions of this Code shall be given reasonable and liberal construction for the fulfillment of these purposes. (Added to NRS by 1971, 1559)
How is an insurance company rated?
The Division of Insurance does not rate companies. There are several companies that rate insurance companies such as A.M. Best Company, Standard & Poor's, Wiess Research, Duff & Phelps and Moody's Investors Services. You may be able to review these publications at your local library.
Conduct a company search for complaint and financial information.
Are there any protections if my insurer goes bankrupt?
Chapter 687A of the Nevada Revised Statutes explains the Nevada Guaranty Association Act. For Life and Health insurers, Chapter 686C of the Nevada Revised Statutes explains the Nevada Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association. You can also visit them on the web. For Property and Casualty insurers, visit the Nevada Insurance Guaranty Association.
I am dissatisfied with my agent and I think my insurance company has been unreasonable with me. What should I do?
Always try to work with the Policyholder Services Department of your insurance company to try to resolve your dissatisfaction. If you are still concerned, you may file a complaint with our office.
Although I received a bill from the insurance company for $212, my agent said that I could send in $120. Now the company cancelled me on the due date because I did not pay the amount due. What should I do?
In some cases, the agent can act on behalf of the company. However, you should always check with the company’s Policyholder Services Department to confirm that the lower amount is acceptable and get it in writing. If the written notice stated that the policy would be cancelled unless the amount due was received by the due date, the cancellation probably is valid. However, if you have documentation that the agent told you to send in less, you should file a complaint with us.
I have an attorney but he is dragging his feet in getting my claim settled. He blames the insurance company for the delay. Can I file a complaint?
We do not regulate attorneys, and because of legal issues, we do not open formal complaints where a consumer is represented by an attorney. You should discuss your concerns with your attorney and, if you are not satisfied, you may contact the State Bar of Nevada at (702) 382-2200.
My neighbor has committed fraud against his insurance company. What should I do?
To report suspected fraudulent claims or other possible frauds being committed against an insurance company, please contact the Nevada Attorney General's Insurance Unit, a division of the Attorney General's Bureau of Criminal Justice, or call the Nevada Attorney General's fraud hotline at 1-800-266-8688.
I can’t get insurance, does Nevada have a high-risk pool?
Nevada has two "pools" in place for mandatory coverage. The Western Association Automobile Insurance Plan for required automobile liability insurance and the NCCI Assigned Risk pool for mandatory workers’ compensation coverage. Any producer that is authorized to write casualty coverage can apply for coverage through these plans. If you move here from another state, you may qualify for health insurance coverage under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. Please see A Consumer’s Guide to Getting and Keeping Health Insurance in Nevada for more information.
How can I learn more about insurance?
We provide a wealth of information on our website, as well as a number of publications to help consumers be informed when they purchase insurance. There are numerous insurance publications in public libraries and some great resources on the Internet that can help you learn more about insurance. In addition to this web site, you can visit the Insurance Information Institute, Medicare, and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ Insure U site for more information. Insure U also features a Get Smart About Insurance Quiz that is an excellent educational tool for consumers.