logo

State Specific Requirements

Amendment Filing Fees  |  Requirements for Merger  |  Requirements for Acquisition  |  Requirements for Name Change  |  Requirements to Add/Delete Lines of Business  |  Requirements for Redomestication/Relocation

Amendment Filing Fees

$10.00 or Retaliatory fee, if greater, to Amend Certificate of Authority, Eligibility, etc. (i.e.: Name Change, Redomestication, Relocation of Home Office, or Add/Delete Lines).

Note: If the company currently holds only one line of business in Nevada and wishes to add another line, there is an additional fee of $295.00 and the company must meet the minimum Capital/Surplus required in Nevada.
Workers’ Compensation requires an additional Special Deposit. See Bulletin 98-001.

For additional Workers’ Compensation requirements/information see Bulletins: 98-001, 98-002, 98-006, and 00-002.

$10.00 or Retaliatory fee, if greater, for Merger.

$10.00 or Retaliatory fee, if greater, for each amended document: Articles of Incorporation, Charter (other than those filed with the original application for a Certificate of Authority, Eligibility, etc.), Bylaws, Power of Attorney and other constituent documents of the insurer.

$10.00 or Retaliatory fee, if greater, for Form #12 “Uniform Consent to Service of Process” (with Power of Attorney) found at www.naic.org/ucaa.

Requirements for Merger

The following requirements are to be submitted on the UCAA Uniform Certificate of Authority Amendment Application found at www.naic.org/ucaa.

  1. A short statement of the information to be changed and the effective date of merger;
  2. The merged company's original Nevada Certificate of Authority or an Affidavit of Loss signed by the President of the Company for inclusion in the file;
  3. A certified copy of the Merger Agreement and Articles of Merger signed by the regulatory agencies involved;
  4. A final Financial statement for the merged company;

Ten dollars ($10) for processing the merger

In addition to the Corporate & Financial Section requirements, please refer to Bulletin 87-004 or 98-002 for Life and Health or Property and Casualty filing requirements. Bulletin 87-004 or 98-002 questions and/or filings should be addressed to the appropriate section.

Requirements for Acquisition

Non – Domestic Companies:
Written notification of acquisition and a copy of the Form A filing (without attachments).

Domestic Companies:
Contact: Peggy Willard-Ross, Assist Chief Financial & Market Examiner at pwillard@doi.state.nv.us or 775-687-0760

Requirements for Name Change

The following requirements are to be submitted on the UCAA Uniform Certificate of Authority Amendment Application found at www.naic.org/ucaa.

  1. Has the name been approved by the state of domicile;
  2. A short statement of information to be changed and the effective date of change;
  3. The company's current original Nevada Certificate of Authority (or Eligibility, etc.) or an Affidavit of loss signed by the President of the Company;
  4. A certified copy of the license and/or a Certificate of Authority/Compliance from the state of domicile showing the new name;
  5. A certified copy of the Articles of Incorporation;
  6. A certified copy of the By-laws;
  7. A certified copy of any other charter documents in regards to the change of name;
  8. Biographical affidavits for any new officers or directors; and

Ten dollars ($10) or retaliatory fee, if greater, for EACH item submitted in items C, E, F and G above.
In addition to the Corporate & Financial Section requirements, please refer to Bulletin 87-004 or 98-002 for Life and Health or Property and Casualty filing requirements. Bulletin 87-004 or 98-002 questions and/or filings should be addressed to the appropriate section.

Requirements to Add/Delete Lines of Business

The following requirements are to be submitted on the UCAA Uniform Certificate of Authority Amendment Application found at www.naic.org/ucaa.

  1. A short statement of the lines of business the company would like to add or delete. If the company currently holds only one line of business in Nevada and wishes to add one or more lines, the company must pay an additional fee of $295.00 and must meet the minimum capital/Surplus required in Nevada.
  2. The company's current original Nevada Certificate of Authority or an Affidavit of Loss signed by the President of the Company;
  3. A copy of the license and/or a Certificate of Compliance from the state of domicile showing the line(s) of business held;

Ten dollars ($10), or retaliatory fee if greater, to amend the Nevada Certificate of Authority.

Fixed or Variable Life and Annuities are authorized in Nevada under the "Life" line of business on the company's Certificate of Authority.

Requirements for Redomestication/Relocation

The following requirements are to be submitted on the UCAA Uniform Certificate of Authority Amendment Application found at www.naic.org/ucaa. Form 2C must be completely filled in.

  1. A short statement of the information to be changed and the effective date of change;
  2. The company's current original Nevada Certificate of Authority or an Affidavit of Loss signed by the President of the Company;
  3. A certified copy of the license and/or a Certificate of Compliance issued by the company's new state of domicile (if applicable);
  4. A certified copy of the Articles of Incorporation, if amended;
  5. A certified copy of the By-laws, if amended;
  6. A certified copy of the Redomestication agreement signed by the regulatory agencies involved (if applicable);
  7. A List of any new officers or directors (Biographical affidavits for Domestics);
  8. A service of process form (if changed);
  9. A completed Nevada change of address form (if changed), and

Filing Fee(s) - $10 or retaliatory, if greater, for EACH item submitted in numbers 2, 4, 5 and 8 above.