logo

Bail Agent/Bail Agency

Qualifications & Fees: Bail Agent

A Bail Agent is a qualified individual who is authorized to execute or countersign the undertakings of bail in connection with judicial proceeding.

Qualifications: 

  • Must be a resident of Nevada for at least one year
  • Must be a resident of Nevada for at least one year
  • Must be 18 years or older
  • Complete a Nevada State Bail Pre-Licensing Course (6 hours) via SIRCON 
  • Pass Nevada State Bail Exam – through Pearson Vue 

Initial Application Required Documents:

  • Complete Bail Residency Questionnaire – Residency Verification 
  • Provide copy of Nevada State Driver License
  • Electronic Fingerprint Receipt – Pearson Vue 
  • Completed Fingerprint Background Waiver 
  • Local Law Enforcement Printout / Scope Report
  • Residency Verification:  DMV Printout and 12 months Utility Bills – electricity, natural gas, sewer, trash or  water
  • Helpful Check List of Required Documents for Bail Agents 

How To Apply:     

  • Submit Online Application via SIRCON  

    ** All required documents must be uploaded and attached to your online application in    SIRCON.

Bond Requirement:

Each applicant for a Bail Agent license must file a $25,000 Surety License Bond naming the People of the State of Nevada as obligee, and must also provide a Power of Attorney. These must remain in force while licensed as a Bail Agent. The original Bond must be mailed to our Carson City office to complete the application.

Fees:

  • Application fee $185 
  • State of Nevada Appointment and Termination Form and fee of $15 – Completed by Surety Company, and must be mailed into the Nevada Division of Insurance in Carson City. 
Make all fees payable to the Nevada Division of Insurance.


Qualifications & Fees:  Bail Agency

A Bail Agency is a qualified firm who employs individuals that are authorized to execute or countersign the undertakings of bail in connection with judicial proceeding. 

Qualifications: 

  • must be owned and controlled by one or more licensed bail agent

  • Provide Articles of Organization or Incorporation filed with the Nevada Secretary of State showing registration ** 

How To Apply:

  • Submit Online Application via SIRCON  

** Articles from the Nevada Secretary of State must be uploaded and attached to your online application in SIRCON

Bond Requirement:

Each applicant for a Bail Agency license must file a $25,000 Surety License Bond  naming the People of the State of Nevada as obligee, and must also provide a Power of Attorney. These must remain in force while licensed as a Bail Agency The original Bond must be mailed into the Division’s Carson City office to complete the application.

Fees:

  • Application fee $235 
  • State of Nevada Appointment and Termination Form and fee of $15 – Completed by Surety Company and must be mailed into the Nevada Division of Insurance in Carson City. 

Make all fees payable to the Nevada Division of Insurance.