logo

 Title and Escrow 

This page is currently under construction. For any questions please contact the Division's Producer Licensing section at (775) 687-0700, option 2.  


APPLICABLE FORMS FOR AN UNDERWRITTEN TITLE AGENCY
All applications for a title agency license must be received by the Division in a classification folder, legal size, two dividers with plain (self) tabs. Smead no.: C502-5A-2D or something similar provided it has six brads for attaching the items required in each section. If you do not bind and tab your application as indicated, the application will be returned to you without being reviewed.


Uniform Application for Business Entity 
Download the National Association of Insurance Commissioner’s (NAIC) Uniform Business Entity Application, from the Producer Licensing Section Forms Directory on the Division’s Web site.

  • If the applicant is a corporation, LLC, LLP or association: A copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization or Agreement of Association and/or Foreign Qualifications as filed with the Nevada Secretary of State. Resident firms must include “to engage as a title agent and/or escrow officer now or hereafter permitted by statute” in their purpose.
  • If the applicant is a partnership: A copy of the Partnership Agreement.
  • The licensing fee is $185, plus online processing fees. Applicants requiring an agency affiliation must pay an additional $50 for each affiliation. Those applicants applying through Sircon may print their license online for free for up to 30 days after the license is issued. 

  • The agency must maintain its principal place of business in this state: A $10.00 filing fee is required for the filing of each additional location.
  • A completed Appointment form and $15 filing fee. The appointment may be obtained from the insurer.
  • A copy of the Executed Underwriting or Agency Agreement between the agency and each title insurer that appoints it. In this agreement, it must show the limit of liability with the underwriting title insurer and agency deductible. (Tabbed)
  • A copy of the Agency Financial Statement for the most recently completed fiscal year or pro forma statement for the first year if a new business.
  • A letter from the title insurer authorizing the use of those fees charged by the title insurer and a copy of the Title Fee Schedules that will be used by the title agency. Escrow rates must be filed with the Property and Casualty Section with a $25 filing fee. The filing instructions and transmittal document may be found on the Property & Casualty Filing Information page of the Division’s website.  
  • A description of the source of records to be used by the title agency when conducting a title search. The description must show that the agency has the ability to conduct a reasonable title search as required by statute. List the Nevada counties in which the agency will do business.
  • Title Agent/Title Insurer surety bond with power of attorney attached in accordance with NRS 692A.1041. Form.
  • Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License. Resident individuals who are not currently licensed in Nevada must submit the Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License application. The licensing fee is $185 plus $50 for the agency affiliation. Resident individual licensing requirementsEscrow online application work around.
  • Individuals must be bona fide residents of Nevada or reside within 50 miles of this state. Each partner of a partnership must submit an application to be licensed under the partnership. A corporation or association must have at least one individual licensed as an individual title agent.
  • Escrow Officer/Title Agent Addendum
  • An applicant for a title agent license must provide proof that they have at least one year of recent experience relating to title insurance of a nature sufficient to allow the applicant to fulfill the responsibilities of a title agent.
  • Resident’s Requirements for Criminal History Search
  • Questions: Contact the Division’s Producer Licensing Section in Carson City at (775) 687-0700, option 1, in Las Vegas at (702) 486-4595 or anywhere in Nevada toll free at (800) 992-0900. 

Title 57 of the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) governs the business of insurance. Nevada’s laws and regulations are available online at www.leg.state.nv.us