Adjusters apply online at SIRCON
Independent or Public Adjuster Business Entity Requirements and Checklist
All Business Entities:
“Business entity” refers to a Corporations, Limited Liability Companies, Limited Liability Partnerships and Associations or other legal form of organization. A business entity that is required to be licensed in this state who transacts insurance without a license is subject to an administrative fine of not more than $1000 per act or violation.
Applicants must contact the Division of Insurance (Division) for a verbal name approval prior to completing any articles of incorporation, articles of organization or amendments with the Secretary of State’s (SOS) office or prior to filing any DBA/Fictitious Firm Name filings with the appropriate Nevada County Clerk’s office.
Division Phone: (775) 687-0700
Corporations, Limited Liability Companies, Limited Liability Partnerships and Associations, etc.:
Contact the Nevada Secretary of State (SOS) to obtain forms, instructions and applicable fees. Phone: (775) 684-5708
Articles of Incorporation (Articles) Purpose Clause:
Business entities who’s purpose is to engage in the business of insurance are required to file with the SOS and must include the following statement within the purpose clause of the entity’s Articles of Incorporation:
“To engage in the business of insurance in all lines of authority permitted under the license issued in compliance with Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) and Nevada Administrative Codes (NAC).”
The articles or amendment must be forwarded to the Division prior to being filed with the SOS by either of the following methods:
1. Mail the Articles or amendment to the Division’s address with the fee for the SOS in a separate sealed envelope labeled “Secretary of State” or “SOS.”
2. Fax the Articles or amendment to the Division’s office. Upon approval of the Articles or amendment, the Division will fax the information to the fax number provided by the applicant for filing with the SOS. The Division’s fax number is (775) 687-0787.
Upon the Division’s approval of the Articles or amendment, the Division will forward its approval to the SOS for its consideration. When the SOS completes its review and approval process, the business entity will be required to furnish a filed copy of the approved Articles or amendment.
Sole proprietors must file a DBA/Fictitious Firm Name with each county clerk’s office where they intend to conduct business. A copy of the filing must be provided to the Division along with the licensing application. Contact the appropriate County Clerk’s office for filing instructions. Refer to Chapter 602 of NRS for information on doing business under an assumed or fictitious name.
Streamlining the application process:
In an ongoing effort to streamline the licensing process, the Division has implemented and encourages the use of its new electronic functionality. The new services are efficient, generally paper free, and can expedite the licensing process including the capability of the applicant being able to print their own license online once the license has been approved by the Division. Applicants may apply electronically utilizing Sircon or National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Additionally, please utilize the Division’s new online Nevada License Look Up Tool to check the status of an application or verify an existing license.
The licensing fee is $195 plus online processing fees. Applicants requiring an agency affiliation must pay an additional $60 for each affiliation. Those applicants applying through Sircon may print their license online for free for up to 30 days after the license is issued.*Effective July 1, 2015 licensing fee will be reduced to $185, plus online processing fees. License modifications and affiliation fees will be reduced to $50, plus online processing fees. New legislation effective July 1, 2015:
- Assembly Bill (AB) 486 - fee changes
- Senate Bill (SB) 67 - mandates licensee's establish and maintain a valid electronic mail address.
Articles/Amendments, DBA/Fictitious Firm Name Filings:
The applicant must provide a filed copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization and any Amendment to be filed with the Nevada Secretary of State. Sole-Proprietors must attach a copy of the Fictitious Firm Name filing form that is filed with the County Clerk’s office.
Independent, Associate or Public Adjuster Licensing Prohibitions:
Pursuant to Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) Chapter 684A, a person is not entitled to receive, renew or hold a license as an adjuster if he has been convicted of, or plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill or nolo contendere.
Uniform Application for Adjusters:
Associate Adjuster Qualification:
As associate adjuster must be 18 years of age. An associate adjuster is named to the license of a resident adjuster. There is no exam requirement for an associate adjuster. An associate adjuster may be either a resident or nonresident.
Independent or Public Adjuster qualifications:
The adjuster must be a resident of Nevada for at least 90 days prior to the submission of the license application. An adjuster must be 18 years of age. The adjuster must take and pass the Property & Casualty exam.
Independent or Public Adjuster Information for the State Insurance Examination
Residents Requirements for Criminal History Search:
NRS 686A.225 Certain insurers to retain adjuster who resides in this state.
- Except as otherwise provided in NRS 684A.060, any insurer who:
- Transacts property, casualty or surety insurance in this state; and
- Retains an adjuster to investigate and settle any claim arising under an insurance contract, shall retain an adjuster who resides in this state.
- As used in this section, “adjuster” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 684A.020.