Bail Enforcement Agent Instruction Checklist
Bail Enforcement Agent Prohibitions, NRS 697.173:
Pursuant to Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 697.173(2), a person is not entitled to receive, renew or hold a license as a bail enforcement agent license if he:
(a) Has been convicted of a felony in this state or of any offense committed in another state which would be a felony if committed in this state; or
(b) Has been convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude or the unlawful use, sale or possession of a controlled substance.
“Bail Enforcement Agent means a person who has contracted with or is employed by a surety or bail agent as a special agent to enforce the terms and conditions of a defendant’s release from custody on bail in a criminal proceeding, to locate a defendant and to apprehend a defendant or surrender a defendant to custody, or both, if appropriate”
Fees effective 7/1/2009:
The first-time licensing fee is $185 for an applicant who is not affiliated with an agency. Fees are payable by check or money order to the Nevada Division of Insurance and are nonrefundable. The name of the applicant should be written in the memo section of the check or money order. The licensing fee is $235 if there is a business entity/agency affiliation listed on question No. 36 of the NAIC application ($185 license fee plus $50 affiliation fee).
Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License
If the applicant is affiliating to a business entity on question No. 36 of the National Association of Insurance Commissioner’s (NAIC) application, and wants the name of the entity to appear on the license, the applicant must list the address of the business entity as the mailing address. Indicate the type of license requested on page 2, mark the other box and specify bail agent, bail solicitor.
Resident’s Requirements for Criminal History Search
80 hours of Training. Training offered through Truckee Meadows Community College, www.csn.edu; or College of Southern Nevada, www.tmcc.edu:
Submit proof of successful completion of at least 80 hours of training in a basic course for bail enforcement agents approved by the Commissioner. Proof that the applicant has completed a course of training required by a municipal, state, or federal law enforcement agency or a branch of the armed forces to carry out the duties of a peace officer may be accepted for the training. Applicants also must include recent First Aid in Emergencies and CPR Certification (front and back of cards).
State Insurance Examination:
A resident applicant for a bail enforcement agent license must take and successfully pass the state insurance exam administered through the Nevada Division of Insurance (Division) insurance exam vendor, Pearson VUE (formerly known as Promissor), in the line(s) of authority for which the applicant is applying. The original Prelicensing Education Certificate of Completion and the original Pearson VUE test examination score reports must be provided with the application.
Provide a certified copy of the applicant’s high school diploma, GED certificate, or evidence of an equivalent education. The Commissioner may consider and approve the equivalent education.
Nevada Driver’s License:
Provide a copy of the applicant’s driver’s license or identification card as proof of the applicant’s age. The applicant must be at least 21 years of age to be licensed.
Non-resident or resident aliens must submit a clear and legible copy of their green card or resident alien identification card. Applicants must be a citizen of the United States or be lawfully entitled to remain and work in the USA to be licensed.
Examination conducted by a psychiatrist or psychologist:
Provide the results of an examination conducted by a psychiatrist or psychologist licensed to practice in Nevada, which indicates that the applicant does not suffer from a psychological condition that would adversely affect your ability to carry out his duties as a Bail Enforcement Agent.
Controlled substance exam:
Provide the results of a test taken to detect the presence of a controlled substance in the applicants system administered by a certified laboratory, taken within 30 days from the date indicated on the applicant’s application. The test must not indicate the presence of any controlled substance for which the applicant does not possess a current and lawful prescription issued in the applicant’s name.
Nevada Approved Bail Continuing Education Course (Bail CE)
Bail Bondsman Bulletin:
NAC 697.130 outlines seven activities that only licensed bail agents may perform. No person other than a licensee may:
- Complete an application for a bail bond, other than filling in the initial statistical information.
- Execute the surety contract, other than clerical preparation of a surety contract under the direct and immediate supervision of the licensee.
- Execute a collateral receipt, other than clerical preparation of the receipt under the direct and immediate supervision of the licensee.
- Post a bond with a court or with a jail in which a defendant is confined or have any communication with a defendant while he is confined, except to obtain statistical information sufficient to refer the matter to the licensee. Any natural person may post a bond on behalf of a defendant if the person is not regularly engaged in the business of providing bail bonds.
- Appear on behalf of the licensee at a court proceeding for the purpose of obtaining continuation, exoneration or reduction of a posted bond, or obtaining other court action on it.
- Solicit bail bond business on behalf of a licensee.
- Perform any other function of a licensee.
Questions: Contact the Division’s Producer Licensing Section in Carson City at (775) 687-0700, option 1, in Las Vegas at (702) 486-4595 or anywhere in Nevada toll free at (800) 992-0900.
Title 57 of the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) governs the business of insurance. Nevada’s laws and regulations are available online at www.leg.state.nv.us.