**Delay in Receiving Criminal History Record Reports from the FBI**
There has been a considerable delay in our receiving criminal history record (CHRI) reports due to the FBI’s installation of a new IT system. The FBI continues to work to correct their systems issue and process the subsequent backlog which has affected hundreds of license applicants. Unfortunately, the Division has not been provided an exact date as to when we will receive the backlogged CHRI reports, however, the FBI has set expectations of up to 12 weeks. Please understand that we cannot issue the licenses without properly completing a background check, which includes reviewing the CHRI report sent from the FBI. We are receiving reports intermittently and will process applications as we receive the reports.
We are asking for the continued patience of applicants and employers during this time as we await the remedy of this issue. Also, please be advised that the Division has been instructed that individuals should not contact the FBI, as they cannot disseminate information regarding criminal history information to the applicants or an employer.
Resident’s Requirements for Criminal History Search
All individuals applying for a resident license with the Nevada Division of Insurance (Division) must furnish a complete set of fingerprints which the Commissioner may forward to the Central Repository for Nevada Criminal Records Repository and the Federal Bureau of Investigations and must attach a completed Fingerprint Background Waiver to their application.
Applicants must pay the applicable processing and agency fee for this service. Applicants may have their fingerprints taken by a law enforcement agency or authorized vendor. LiveScan Digital Fingerprints services are the preferred method for fingerprint processing. LiveScan Digital Fingerprinting services are also conveniently available through Pearson VUE. Applicants may register to have their fingerprints taken at the same time they register for the state exam. The LiveScan fingerprinting fee is $40.00 plus the vendor’s processing fee. Applicants will be provided a receipt which indicates the date the prints were submitted to the Nevada Criminal History Records Repository. The applicants must provide the receipt to the Division upon request.
Applicants that utilize hard copy fingerprint cards may experience delays due to the time required to manually process the paper filing.
Applicants utilizing a hard copy card must provide a money order or cashier’s check in the amount of $40.00 made payable to the Department of Public Safety (DPS), which must accompany the fingerprint card.
Hard copy prints must include the printed name, signature, address, SSN, date of birth, place of birth, weight, height, sex, hair color, citizenship, home and business address of the person being fingerprinted as well as the date fingerprinted and signature of official taking fingerprints. The Division’s ORI number, Miscellaneous NO MNU Number, and the statutory reason for being fingerprinted must also be included on the cards.
The commissioner may suspend, revoke or refuse to issue a license if the applicant’s criminal history report shows a conviction or other criminal activity that was not disclosed on a licensing application.
Persons with questions concerning licensing issues may contact the Producer Licensing section in Carson City at (775) 687-0700, option 2 or toll-free at 1-800-992-0900.