STATE OF NEVADA

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS & INDUSTRY

DIVISION OF INSURANCE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION SECTION

2016 ANNUAL CLAIMS INFORMATION REPORT FORM

ACTIVE SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS

INSTRUCTIONS
The following instructions are provided to assist you in correctly completing the Annual Claims Information Report form pursuant to Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 616B.460.  Each item is identified by section and line number. 
SECTION A. IDENTIFICATION 

This section should be completed to indicate all of your current contact information.  If you have utilized multiple third-party administrators (TPA), please provide us with contact information for each third-party administrator and indicate which claim dates are handled by each administrator. See Section H for instructions on multiple TPAs.
The employer's name should be the same name that is shown on the Certificate of Authority and on file with the office of the Secretary of State. 

SECTION B. ADMINISTRATION (NRS 616B.315)
B 1 & B 2
NRS 616B.315 states in part:

“A self-insured employer shall notify the Commissioner not less than 60 days before any change in ownership or control of the employer. The certification of the self-insured employer terminates automatically on the date of the change unless the Commissioner extends the certification.”
This statute requires that notice be given to the Division of Insurance at least 60 days in advance of any changes in ownership or structure or which changes the control of a self-insured employer, or adds or deletes subsidiaries or affiliates from the employer's Certificate of Authority.  All such notices MUST be in writing. The need to keep the information confidential does not relieve the employer from the responsibility of giving the advance notice; however, a request can be made to the Commissioner to keep such information confidential.    
SECTION C. SECURITY DEPOSIT (NRS 616B.300) (NAC 616B.424) (NAC 616B.436) & (NAC 616B.439)
Review the types of securities listed. Complete the sections that apply to your current security deposit(s).  Please attach a copy (or copies) of current security deposit(s) held with the Division of Insurance.                                                         
SECTION D. EXCESS INSURANCE (NRS 616B.300(5)) 

Please review your excess insurance policy to ensure that the policy:

(1) Is current,
(2) Contains a sixty-day (60) notice of cancellation,

(3) Has been countersigned by a licensed insurance agent, and,

(4) Has a minimum Self-Insured Retention (SIR) of $100,000

SECTION E. BUSINESS NAMES (NAC 616B.451)
It is important that the names of the subsidiaries and entities listed under this section be accurate. The names must appear exactly as listed in the files of the Secretary of State. This will ensure that each self-insured entity named on the Certificate of Authority has complied with the requirement to be licensed to do business in the State of Nevada.  This information is compared to your Certificate of Authority to ensure that all entities are included therein. 

SECTION F. PHYSICAL LOCATIONS (NAC 616B.451 (4 & 5))
ALL self-insured locations MUST be listed in this section. PROVIDE PHYSICAL LOCATIONS ONLY.  DO NOT INCLUDE LOCATIONS AS BUSINESS NAMES.

SECTION G. AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (NRS 616B.336) & (NAC 616B.433)
Audited financial statements must be submitted each year no later than 120 days following the close of the self-insured's fiscal year.  Self-insured employers who do not submit financial statement within the required time frame will be subject to an administrative fine of $500.  Please verify that the most current audited financial statement has been submitted.  Do not send the audited financial statements with this report. 
SECTION H. CLAIMS INFORMATION (NAC 616B.463) 
(PLEASE RETAIN ALL SOURCE DOCUMENTS AS THEY WILL BE REQUIRED DURING THE COURSE OF AUDITS) 
Each third-party administrator responsible for handling your claims must complete a separate report of claims, which must be included in your complete filing due September 30, 2016. Claims Reports must cover the period of inception to June 30, 2016.
H 1. ANNUAL CLAIMS EXPENDITURES AVERAGE  

a. Claims Expenditures - These figures represent the total dollars actually disbursed in the last three fiscal years by or on behalf of an employer as benefits against all past and current (closed and open) industrial insurance claims.  The expenditures to be reported must include medical, indemnity, rehabilitation, legal costs, etc.  Do not reduce this amount by any recoveries from ANY source.
b.
Claims Expenditure Three-Year Average – This figure is calculated using the total claims expenditures (H1.a) for the last three years divided by three.  The average is then entered in the Total column (H1.b). If business operations changed significantly during these periods, then please provide detailed explanation of any appropriate adjustments.   
H 2. CLOSED CLAIM COSTS 

NOTE: ALL CLOSED CLAIMS INFORMATION IS CUMULATIVE. 

a. Closed Claims –The information must include all claims since the date of certification.  PLEASE DO NOT INCLUDE INCIDENT REPORTS.

b.   Actual Paid to Date – Enter gross payments for closed claims including Medical, Indemnity, and Other (legal fees, rehabilitation fees and any other fees that can be charged to a specific claim). Do not reduce this amount by any recoveries from ANY source.

c.
Applicable Percentage Used – Enter percentage based upon the following sliding scale according to the number of uninterrupted years the employer has been in the self-insured program.  The participation years in the program are calculated starting with the beginning of the State's fiscal year (July 01) in which the self-insured was certified and ending with the date of the current annual report (June 30). If the self-insured was certified between July 1 and December 31, the beginning year would qualify for inclusion. If the self-insured was certified between January 1 and June 30, the beginning year would not qualify for inclusion. 

PARTICIPATION YEARS SLIDING SCALE (H 2.c)

         YEARS IN PROGRAM                           PERCENTAGE

     INCEPTION THROUGH 5
     
3


     6 THROUGH 10

2


     11 THROUGH 15 

1


     Over 15 

0.5 

SCHEDULE OF PARTICIPATION YEARS

                            CERTIFICATION DATE                # OF PARTICIPATION YEARS

7/1/01 – 6/30/02                                           15

7/1/02 – 6/30/03


  14

7/1/03 – 6/30/04


  13

7/1/04 – 6/30/05
                    12

7/1/05 – 6/30/06
                    11

7/1/06 – 6/30/07
                    10

7/1/07 -- 6/30/08
                      9

7/1/08 –  6/30/09
                      8

7/1/09 –  6/30/10
                      7

7/1/10 –  6/30/11
                      6

7/1/11 –  6/30/12
                      5

7/1/12 –  6/30/13
                      4

7/1/13 --  6/30/14
                      3

7/1/14 --  6/30/15
                      2

7/1/15 –  6/30/16
                      1
d.
Provision for Reopened Claims Costs is calculated using Actual Paid to Date (H 2.b) times the sliding scale percentage (H 2.c) for each column (i.e. Medical, Indemnity and Other).  The sum of these calculated amounts is entered in the Subtotal column (H2.d) for Provision for Reopened Claims Costs (i.e. Medical, Indemnity and Other).
H 3. CLAIMS ADMINISTRATION COSTS
Claims administration costs are the operating expenses incurred by the self-insured employer in providing and servicing the claims.  If self-administered, compute the total cost of administering the program in-house, including but not limited to salaries and benefits, equipment, floor space cost, supplies and any other related costs. Enter the amount on this line. 

If using a Third-Party Administrator (TPA), the estimated annual fees based on the contract and paid to the TPA from July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016 should be entered on this line.
H 4. MINIMUM SECURITY DEPOSIT
Enter the sum of the Total columns rounded up to the nearest thousand for Annual Claims Expenditures Average (H 1.b), Provision for Reopened Claims Costs (H 2.d), and Administrative Expense (H 3.a). Please note that pursuant to NRS 616B.300 (2) a security deposit may not be less than $100,000. 

DO NOT adjust your current security deposit without the prior express written permission of the Division of Insurance. Once the Division has reviewed the Annual Claims Information Report Form, the self-insured employer will be notified in writing of any increase or decrease to the security deposit. 
H 5. OPEN CLAIMS INFORMATION FOR THIS FISCAL YEAR (the information must include all open claims since the date of certification)

a.
Open Claims – Enter only claims that have been accepted. Please do not include incident reports. 


b.  
Anticipated Gross Costs – Enter the total anticipated gross costs (ultimate exposure, total incurred) for the lifetime of the open claims including Medical, Indemnity, and Other (legal fees, rehabilitation fees and any other fees that can be charged to a specific claim).


c.  
Actual Paid to Date – Enter gross payments for open claims paid to date.  Do not reduce this amount by any recoveries from ANY source.

d. Reserves – This amount is calculated by subtracting Actual Paid to Date (H 5.c) from Anticipated Gross Costs (H 5.b).

e.
Number of Claims Expected to be Paid From Other Sources – Please enter anticipated number of claims expected to be paid from excess insurance, subrogation, and the subsequent injury fund.  Attach supporting documentation which must include name of claimant, date, type of injury, medical and indemnity paid to date, reserve, source of recovery, and anticipated amount of recovery.  Also, attach calculations supporting the anticipated amount.

H 6.
Enter the number of claims filed during the current fiscal year regardless of the date of injury. Please include incident reports and denied claims.   

H 7.
Enter only claims accepted. 
H 8.
Enter number of injuries that involved five or more employees for the same accident.  Please note that pursuant to NAC 616B.469 (2) these accidents must be reported to the Commissioner of Insurance within 30 days after the actual occurrence.
H 9.
Enter number of fatalities.  Please attach fatality report.

SECTION I. EMPLOYEE INFORMATION
The total number of employees and locations MUST be provided.

SIGNATURES (NAC 616B.460 (3))
This report will not be accepted as timely filed unless it contains the notarized signature of an officer of the self-insured employer and the signature of the Third Party Administrator(s) (TPA).  The notarized signature is evidence that the report has been reviewed by the self-insured entity and has been verified to be accurate and complete.
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